Home > Software, Utility > The iRed Lite Special – get it while it’s hot!

The iRed Lite Special – get it while it’s hot!

Hmmm… Maybe even for you older folk like me, that’s quite a stretch to invoke a memory of K-Mart’s Blue Light specials, but the software really is cool! I mean hot!

I always wondered how I could put that nifty Apple Remote to good use besides for Front Row. Wouldn’t it be cool if I could control PowerPoint using the AR to go from slide to slide? Or to control iTunes from across the room? Well, I’ve found a way. iRed Lite lets me do exactly that!

PowerPoint wasn’t one of the pre-installed applications that iRed Lite controlled, but the commands for it were included in the download and it was simple enough to import the commands and define a new “layer” for it. I tried it with a presentation I gave last month and it worked really well! Anyway, certainly worth the download. It’s free right now, but note that once it’s out of beta the author plans to charge a nominal fee for the software ($12 when I looked), but for what it does it’ll be well worth it.

Categories: Software, Utility
  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 24, 2007 at 11:16 pm

Leave a comment